MacBook Pro

The MacBook Pro line can be divided into four "eras": From 2006 to 2008, the "Non-Unibody" series, which replaced the PowerBooks. Here RAM and HDD were interchangeable. From the end of 2008 to mid-2012, the "Unibody" series, which was named after the components that were installed in an aluminum frame made of one piece, where the RAM and HDD could still be exchanged at will.The "Retina" series from the end of 2012 was only available with 13" and 15" models, the 17" series was discontinued in 2011. The name resulted from the so-called Retina-Displays which were installed here, i.e. displays with a nominally four times higher resolution, which should increase the image sharpness. In this series the RAM was already soldered, the SSD was exchangeable. And from 2016 the series that could be additionally equipped with TouchBar - but unfortunately with soldered RAM and SSD.